Jamaican News

Amway Canadian Championship kicks off in May, with five teams in the hunt

TORONTO(AP) _ The Vancouver Whitecaps will begin defence of their Amway Canadian Championship against either FC Edmonton or Ottawa Fury FC.

The two North American Soccer League teams will meet in a home-and-away series May 11 and 18 to determine who advances to play the Whitecaps in June.

Toronto FC faces the Montreal Impact in the other semifinal.

The tournament winner qualifies for the 2017-18 CONCACAF Champions League.

Vancouver defeated Montreal in the two-legged final last year.

The Impact won the event in 2008, 2013 and 2014, advancing all the way to the final of the Champions League in 2015. Toronto won the Canadian crown from 2009 to 2012.

2016 Amway Canadian Championship

May 11

Preliminary Round

Ottawa Fury FC at FC Edmonton

May 18

FC Edmonton at Ottawa Fury FC


June 1

Vancouver Whitecaps at Ottawa Fury FC/FC Edmonton

Montreal Impact at Toronto FC

June 8

Ottawa Fury FC/FC Edmonton at Vancouver Whitecaps

Toronto FC at Montreal Impact


First Leg

June 21 or 22

Second leg

June 28 or 29

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *