Jamaican News

Outstanding Educators to be Honoured June 21

The Prime Minister’s Medal of Appreciation (PMMA) for Service to Education ceremony will be held on Wednesday, June 21, on the Lawns of Jamaica House.

Forty outstanding educators who have contributed 1,428 years of service collectively to education will receive the PMMA.

The recipients were nominated by their peers, community members and elected representatives.

The recipients include Arnoldo Allen, New Forest Infant, Primary and Junior High; Dr. O’neil Ankle, Jonathan Grant High; Paul Bailey, Holmwood Technical; Sonia Brown, Easington Primary; Lena Buckle-Scott, Ministry of Education; Mavis Burke, Programme for the Advancement of Childhood Education, Canada; Yvonne Clarke, Bethlehem Moravian College; Elaine Clarke, Anchovy Primary; Dianne Clarke, Victory Academy; Clayton Collins, Troy Primary; Bethel Davis, Cockburn Gardens Primary and Junior High; Lloyd Fearon, Dinthill Technical High; Daisy Garwood, Schoolfield All-Age; and Charmaine Gooden Monteith, Jamaica Teachers’ Assocation. Also to be honoured are Kevin Grant, Holmwood Technical; Robert Green, Ebony Park Academy; Colin Gyles, University of Technology (UTech); Beverly Harris, Bridgeport High; Maxine Headlam, Ministry of Education; Colin Hitchman, HEART Trust/NTA; Dotlene Irving, Paul Bogle High; Marjorie James, Shortwood Teachers’ College; Winston Jennings, Roehampton Primary; Zellynne Jennings-Craig, University of the West Indies (UWI); Joyce Kellyman-Wright, John’s Town Primary; Paulette Kennedy, Maldon Primary; Marcia Lobban-Mitchell, Bridgeport High; and Lesline McCatty, Belair High.

Included also are Joy McGlashan, Moneague College; Beverly McKenzie, Glenmuir High; Norma McNeill, Pembroke Hall Primary; Edwin Murray, G.C. Foster College: Pauleen Reid, Holland High; Wayne Robinson, Jamaica College; Veronica Sewell-Morgan, Charles Chin-Loy Early Childhood Development Centre; Garth Smith, Nazareth All-Age; Dorothy Taylor, Maverley Primary; Miriam Taylor, Excelsior Community College; Catherine Thorpe, Gordon Pen Basic and Judith Wallace, Farm Primary and Junior High.

To be considered for the award, recipients must have shown evidence of community involvement, including participation in civic and club activities.

Educators involved with uniformed groups and programmes that foster the development of the community and creativity in the service rendered, may also be considered for the award.

The awards will be presented to persons who are citizens of Jamaica, but in exceptional circumstances, a person who is not a citizen may be recommended for the award.

Prime Minister, the Most Hon. Andrew Holness, will give the main address. Among the other dignitaries who will attend are Their Excellences, Governor-General the Most Hon. Sir Patrick Allen and Lady Allen; Leader of the Opposition, Dr. Peter Phillips; and Minister of Education, Youth and Information, Senator the Hon. Ruel Reid.

The ceremony is scheduled to start at 6:30 p.m., and guests are to be seated by 5:30 p.m.

Article by: Judith Hunter
Photo from: www.jis.gov.jm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *