Steve Smith named cricketer of the year by ICC, de Villiers gets one day player award

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates _ Australia captain Steve Smith has been named the International Cricket Council test player and cricketer of the year while South Africa’s A. B. de Villiers has been awarded the best one-day international player for 2015.

The ICC said Wednesday that Smith was the seventh player to be awarded both test and cricketer of the year. Australian Michael Clarke won both in 2013 as did countryman Mitchell Johnson in 2014.

During the voting period from Sept. 18, 2014 to Sept. 13, Smith was the leading run-scorer in tests with 1,734 runs in 25 innings at an average of 82.57, including seven centuries.

It was de Villiers’ second consecutive ODI award. De Villiers scored 1,265 runs in 20 innings at an average of just over 79, including two centuries and nine half-centuries.

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, who said Tuesday he plans to retire from international cricket in February, won the Spirit of Cricket Award for “inspiring his side to play the game in its true spirit.”

“This was clearly evident throughout the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, and in particular in the semifinal where McCullum showed humility and exemplary sportsmanship by inviting de Villiers and his side to the New Zealand’s dressing room after a closely-fought match,” the ICC said.

The other ICC awards:

Twenty20 performance: Faf du Plessis, South Africa, (119 runs in 56 balls vs. West Indies, Jan. 11, 2015).

Emerging cricketer: Josh Hazlewood, Australia.

Women’s one-day international cricketer: Meg Lanning, Australia.

Women’s Twenty20 cricketer: Stafanie Taylor, West Indies.

Associate/affiliate cricketer: Khurram Khan, United Arab Emirates.

Umpire of the year: Richard Kettleborough, England.

The Associated Press

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *