Canadian NewsFeaturedFilm

Winners announced at The Comedic & Dramatic Arts Awards during Canadian Screen Week 2023

The Porter and Brother among top Canadian Screen Award winners as the week’s in-person events come to a close

TORONTOApril 14, 2023 /CNW/ – The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television celebrated the final award show of Canadian Screen Week 2023 tonight at Meridian Hall in Toronto, bringing to a close four days of in-person events honouring the achievements of Canadian talent in film, television and digital media.

The Comedic and Dramatic Arts Awards, which recognized the best of television performance and craft categories, took place earlier this evening and saw CBC’s The Porter winning a record 12 Canadian Screen Awards, leading television honours overall. Wins include: Best Drama Series; Best Direction, Drama Series, presented by Playback; Best Writing, Drama Series; and Best Guest Performance, Drama Series for Alfre Woodward. The award for Best Lead Performer, Drama Series went to Hamza Haq for CTV’s Transplant, making this his third consecutive win as a lead in the series.

In comedy, the sophomore season of CBC’s Sort Of took home seven Canadian Screen Awards. Among those wins was Best Comedy Series; Best Lead Performer, Comedy, presented by the Canada Media Fund, for Bilal Baig; Best Guest Performance, Comedy for Amanda Brugel; and Best Writing, Comedy, for Bilal Baig and Fab Filippo, marking back-to-back wins for the pair in this category.

Film honours were led by Clement Virgo’s Brother, which received a record 12 Canadian Screen Awards at The Cinematic Arts Awards, presented by Telefilm Canada and supported by Cineplex, on Thursday, April 13, including: Best Motion Picture; Achievement in Direction, and Adapted Screenplay for Clement Virgo; Performance in a Leading Role, presented by Telefilm Canada, for Lamar Johnson; and Performance in a Supporting Role for Aaron Pierre.

“The opportunity to recognize and commemorate the outstanding individuals who make up our screen-based industries both in front of and behind the camera, as well as our incredible group of Special Award recipients, has been nothing short of inspiring,” said Tammy Frick, CEO, Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television. “I want to extend both a heartfelt thank you to the incredible team who helped make these celebrations possible, and  mighty congratulations to all of the immensely talented 2023 Canadian Screen Awards winners.”

While the in-person award shows have ended, there’s still plenty more excitement to come with The Canadian Screen Awards with Samantha Bee on Sunday, April 16 on CBC and CBC Gem at 8 PM (9 AT, 9:30 NT). Hosted by Samantha Bee and written by a team that includes Canadians Jason Jones, former Daily Show correspondent, and Scott Vrooman, former staff writer on Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj, this hour-long star-studded broadcast special will serve as a comprehensive survey of the previous year, diving into some of the best moments in Canadian television and film, exciting celebrity interviews, exclusive access to this year’s illustrious slate of Special Award recipients, and will reveal the winner of the Cogeco Fund Audience Choice Award. The special will also feature some very special guests including Amy PoehlerMae MartinAdam DiMarco, and Lamar Johnson.

The full list of 2023 Canadian Screen Award winners can be viewed here.

SOURCE Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *