ReggaeReggae Music News

VP Records Releases The Tribute Album ‘We Remember Bob Andy’

February 20, 2023 | By Natasha Von Castle |

VP Records announces the release of We Remember Bob Andy, a tribute album featuring 15 artists covering the late Jamaican singer / songwriter’s catalog, released on February 10th, 2023 on CD, vinyl, and all digital streaming platforms.

A Television Jamaica (TVJ) broadcast special will follow on Sunday, February 26th at 9 p.m., featuring Beres Hammond, Tarrus Riley, Nadine Sutherland, Lukie D, Qyor, Sherieta, Duane Stephenson, Romain Virgo, and Kumar, performing songs from the album. This program is presented in association with the Jamaica Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment, and Sport as the official culmination of Reggae Month, and will simulcast on VP Records’ YouTube Channel.

Produced by Dean Fraser, We Remember Bob Andy includes 15 all-new Bob Andy cover versions from the artists above, plus Luciano, Sanchez, Bitty McLean, Richie Spice, and Olaf Blackwood, extended with ten instrumental versions. Bob Andy, born Keith Anderson, is celebrated as one of Jamaica’s greatest songwriters, with a catalog including tracks like “Too Experienced,” “My Time,” “Unchained,” “Sun Shines For Me,” “Fire Burning,” and “I’ve Got To Go Back Home,” among dozens of evergreen anthems.

The first single from the album, Bitty McLean’s take on Bob Andy’s “Let Them Say” was released on what would have been Bob Andy’s 78th birthday, October 28, 2022. The song was accompanied by a video directed by Fredi Nwaka.

Alaine and Lukie D’s update of Bob Andy and Marcia Griffith’s “Always Together,” entitled “Really Together” was included on VP’s Strictly The Best Vol. 62 on November 18th, 2022.

Tarrus Riley’s “Desperate Lover” was released as a single on January 13th, 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *