October 5, 2015
Former President Jimmy Carter to mediate dispute over MLK Bible and Nobel Peace Prize
October 6, 2015

Tracy Morgan among comedians set to honour Eddie Murphy with humour prize

(AP Photo/Charles Sykes, File)

 (AP Photo/Charles Sykes, File)

(AP Photo/Charles Sykes, File)

WASHINGTON _ Tracy Morgan will help salute Eddie Murphy as he receives the nation’s top prize for humour at the Kennedy Center in Washington later this month.

The Kennedy Center announced the addition of Morgan, Brittany Howard and George Lopez to the lineup Monday. Murphy will be awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor on Oct. 18.

Performers include stars from “Saturday Night Live,” where Murphy had his early breakout, such as Chris Rock, Jay Pharoah, Kevin Nealon and Joe Piscopo. Other performers include Kathy Griffin, Arsenio Hall, Dave Chappelle, Trevor Noah and Whitney Cummings.

The tribute show will be broadcast Nov. 23 on PBS.

The humour prize honours those who influence society in the tradition of Samuel Clemens, the writer and satirist known as Mark Twain.

The Associated Press

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *