Randy Valentine
November 20, 2012
Film: Reality of the Dancehall
November 21, 2012

Vision receives BEFFTA award for: Best Community Newspaper

Sir Trevor McDonald OBE honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award


November 21, 2012 | By Vision Newspaper |

The 4th annual BEFFTA (Black Entertainment Film Fashion Television and Arts) Awards 2012 were held at the Hippodrome in Golders Green, North London, 27th October. 3.000 nominees and well-wishers where invited to witness the award show extraordinaire.

The BEFFTA is Europe’s biggest award ceremony for black and ethnic big names in the showbiz.  Founded by Pauline Long, the award aims to inspire and motivate black and ethnic minority personalities. 

This years award show did not miss out on well known personalities attending the red carpet and black tie event which made everyone look and feel their best.

Some of the stars who were spotted included Sir Trevor McDonald OBE, Baroness Scotland, singer Lemar, Catwalk Professor, footballer Fabrice Muamba and Eddi Kaddy  the host of the evening captivating with his charm and  humor.

Well known journalist and TV-presenter Sir Trevor McDonald OBE was honored with a BEFFTA LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD and received a standing ovation from the 3000 audience. The Trinidadian is known for being the first black news reader on UK television.

Other winners included Lorna Sutara Gayle who picked up the BEFFTA ENTERTAINMENT ICON AWARD, model trainer Catwalk Professor who got the BEFFTA EXCELLENCE AWARD and Eddi Kadie who took the trophy for BEST COMEDIAN.

We are immensely proud to have won the award for BEST COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER and want to use this opportunity to thank all our readers.

Other winners included:
Best Female Act: Lady Leshurr
Best Male Act: Valentine
Best Gospel Act: London Community Gospel Choir
Best International Act: Ruff Kid
Best UK AfroBeats Act: May7ven
Best UK Caribbean Act: Sandra Cross
Best International Afrobeats Act: Juliana Kanyomozi
Best International Caribbean Act: Sean Paul


Station of the year: Colourful
Radio personality of the year: Julie Ann Ryan


Best director: Obi Emelonye
Best Actor: Ken Smart
Best Actresses: Anita Bellamy
Best Film: Last Flight to Abuja


Best Actress: Chizzy Akudolu
Best Actor: Wale Ojo
Best TV Station: VOX Africa
Best TV Show: Meet The Adebanjos
Best TV personality: Femi Amusan
Best presenter: Fernand Frimpong Jnr
Best Webseries: All About The McKenzies
More information: www.beffta.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.